Skin Care Website Design Review Tips

Written by Alex Harris

Welcome to another website review with Alex Harris, where I show you how to increase your conversion rates and generate more leads.

Today we will review besides that offer health and beauty products.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.17.27 AM Have a clear UVP
First of all, it’s clear that you’re selling beauty products, but that’s a bit too vague. You want to figure out what your clear, unique value proposition is. What are you selling most of? Then how does that really benefit the users that are visiting your site? “Look younger with our skin cream.” Whatever the majority of your products do, I would clearly state that in the headline.

You can probably look up any of the acne companies. Hmm, dealing with acne. X Out, they probably do a good job.

Be clear with what you offer
But overall, you don’t want to make people think, because it’s likely you’re spending money and driving traffic to your home pages or your category pages. At that point in the category pages, you should be telling people exactly what you’re offering them.

Moisturizer. Okay, moisturizer is a bit too vague. Moisturizers specifically to help your skin look younger, to make yourself look fresh. In this other site, it says, “See clearer skin. Younger-looking skin in 30 days.” That’s a smart, actionable call to action.

So whatever the majority of your products do on the category sections, if you can add intro text, this will tell people exactly what to do and exactly what to purchase. If you’re making 80% of your revenue off of 20% of your products, have those products very upfront.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.16.39 AMAdd reviews and recommendations
Because this looks a little bit intimidating. As soon as I arrive here, $88 for this particular one. It may work really well, but first-time visitors may be more interested in this $20 one, even though it may not necessarily be as high quality. That way, when people click on the Hydra, you recommend, “People that have bought this item have also purchased this one.” Or you could say, “If you want even better results, purchase our higher-ticket item.”

It looks like you could maybe put some related items on this right column. I don’t know if you have any reviews yet on that one. But definitely get reviews.

Show that you are credible
With health and beauty products, it’s all about science and proof. People want to know that you’re a credible company, that you’re not giving them some fake information, and that you’re a credible source. So have people that say the products are scientifically tested, for you to dramatically improve your composition.

Consider free samples
Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.17.45 AMOffer free samples. The ability to get people to order free samples is a great way. So if you order free samples, you also potentially get a money-back guarantee, free samples with every order.

Having free samples when you ship is a great way to get people to return to your site. Send that box of goodies with your moisturizers and put some free samples in there and have coupons for people to come back. Incentivize people to come back for a certain promo.

Don’t make people think
Let’s go to another category. Bath & Body, Sun & Tan. So why would people want to click on Sun & Tan? They want to get sun protection, face tanning, yes. But I don’t know if these are necessarily the most attractive things of what I want to do. What do these pigments mean?

I would certainly show Sun & Tan, maybe show a picture of palm trees or someone tanning, and then they naturally need sun protection. Don’t make people think. That’s what a unique value proposition is all about.

“X Out acne in just 1 simple step!” Make things sound easier than they really are. Everybody wants that free pill, that free magic button. We know that that’s not the case, but make it seem easier than it is and then get people to kind of relate to it.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.17.55 AMOffer proof through testimonials and photos
“See the proof.” So if I want to know if this sun protection or this age-reducing cream is really working for me, have a picture of a person, and then give her story.

A great example. People are going to want to dig into certain products. Having the proof, showing how it works, and then giving people… yes, you want to test with different images.

Run heat maps
But you just don’t want to test everything. You want to, first of all, run heat maps on each of your different templates. First of all, run Analytics and figure out what the top categories are. Then from that, where are the top pages that people are visiting? Then run heat maps on those individual pages, because all I’m doing is making assumptions right now. People could be going to the very, very bottom, and then clicking on the $29 one.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.17.04 AMWhat you want to do is figure out exactly where people are clicking on your individual page, and then start to optimize that. There’s no reason to just randomly change images because I made this suggestion or your CEO wants a new website design. You want to be data driven. So figure out what is going on in your site, and then test based on the data that you find out.

Sale and clearance items
Have a sale item. Have a clearance item at the very, very top and then having a few select items that are actually on clearance. Because people certainly want to click around, but if they don’t know what these brands are, they’re likely to get confused.

Optimize your homepage
Overall, I think your biggest opportunity is probably on your home page. I mean, I don’t know if you’re located in the US or not… oh, you’re located in Canada. I know my wife buys a lot of beauty products, and I don’t know if I’ve heard of many of these. So you might have to do a little bit of education to explain exactly how they can do it.

Create intent-driven category pages
Then each of your different categories has different intent. There are a lot of different reasons why people buy romantic oils versus skin care. I think you want to create these product pages specifically for their intent. Yeah, those images should be changed.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.17.36 AMBe clear with promotional gifts
“Gift with purchase.” The user is asking what you think about our gift with purchase. As I go through one of these, you get a gift with a purchase. Promotional gift? “Spend $200 on Eminence and receive your free gift.” Majority of people are not going to know what that is. Right now, this is just confusing. I don’t think anybody’s going to read this or understand exactly what’s going on, if that’s what you’re referring to.

Doctor’s information
Having the doctor information is always very good. “Make an appointment.” Oh, that’s for a dermatology place. Dermatologist-recommended acne products.

Other examples
Let’s jump over to the next site. Yeah, the front page slider of your particular one is very confusing. First of all, if I was going to buy gifts for my wife, I wouldn’t know what any of these mean. Organic skin care? Okay, maybe. “Essential travel gift with a purchase of $150 or more.” You could do the exact same thing. I would start off by having this as a static slider.

Call to actions
Test different call to actions. Figure out if the free gift is good for you. Because right now, it’s way too fast. As soon as I’m about to read it, it slides away. So I think you want to test a static image, and then start to optimize that. Right now, it’s missing call to actions. So I would put a clear button on the actual slider, for sure.

If this is a value of $60 and you get this for free, cross that out, because it’s just too hard to read. The flow doesn’t go properly with the hierarchy.

Screen Shot 2014-10-08 at 1.18.52 AM“Value of $51.” I think all the category sections are right, but I think your promotions are just not clear. Make them very, very clear, and don’t make them off the brand. Make them off the benefit. Don’t sell the features of your product. Sell the benefits. If this is a bioglycolic facial cleanser, tell me why I’m going to look 30 years younger, like, “This is the reason why you should buy this product.”

Tell people exactly what you want them to do, and it should give you more sales.

If you have any questions or you want to reach out to me, I do help a lot of companies with this. We go through web analytics and user experience to really figure out where the pain points are, where people drop out, what people are clicking on. Then we find those quick wins. Where are you making 80% of your revenue off of 20% of your products?

If you want to learn more, you can visit me at AlexDesigns.com.

Sundry remedies approachable from the Web to why to waste day and effort going to drugstore if you can hands-down get Viagra sit at home. Varied medicaments are used to treat Neutropenia. A global sexual appeal among men is the erectile disfunction. Matters like “over the counter lidocaine cream” and “lidocaine cream over the counter” are very popular for last year. Find out more through the links below. What do you have to study about “over the counter lidocaine“? Other question we have to is “undefined”. Viagra has been demonstrated to be effective in men with such medicinal conditions as diabetes mellitus. One way to improve erectile disfunction is to make few plain lifestyle changes, another is remedy. Lifestyle changes take day, but the results are worthwhile.